misterconorwoods

Seminar – Petty Laugh-ceny

In Seminar Reflections on August 30, 2014 at 12:08 pm

That might be my worst pun ever.

We finally had the Seminar, and it went great!

Over the week I filmed a green-screen promo with Evan and Rob, and rubbed out the final details of our performance. I would break in as a burglar, and Rob would try to apprehend me, before being tricked into being my assistant.

I had looked over the questions a few times by then, and was pretty happy with the work our team put in to keep it topical, fun and engaging.
As the team set up the equipment and stage, I found myself in charge of entertaining the guests. Jeff Shenker was first to arrive by far, and I was very pleased with the natural rapport that I established with him early on. We spoke jovially and he was primed for a fun little seminar – exactly what I was hoping for. Next was Anna Gregory, and again I was able to speak easily with her. She seemed very switched on and before I knew it Anna, Jeff and I were having a colloquial round table chat. The other guests arrived whilst I was hiding (a necessary factor in the theatrics of ‘Breaking In’) but they too were reasonably loose and excited.
One of our guests seemed averse to the idea of a silly gameshow (naming no names), but visibly warmed over the course of the preceedings.

I was very proud of myself for the work that I did in my seminar. I watched talk shows in preparation, and studied closely the technique of the previous weeks interviewer. I feel that I was able to keep the talking on track without making myself the focus – a fear I had from the start, after all I didn’t want to get caught up playing burglar and distract people from the guests the team had to work for.
I was able to politely move forward when we were running behind, I was able to tell a few jokes and keep everyone happy and having fun, and I feel I handled the later Q&A with a lot of patience and with a priority on audience involvement.  I had many compliments thrown my way both from the guests and the audience, and was even asked for my email by a seminar attendee who saw my hosting abilities as an asset.

I was very much afraid that I would be seen as pandering to my own ego, despite my reluctance to host in the first place. I believe my operation on the day proves my commitment to the work first and foremost, and I feel happy that I was able to contribute to what was a great day.
I am very happy with how the rest of the team performed too, with an absolute minimum of technical difficulties and problems.

This one was a win for me, and I got Anna and Jeff’s emails as a result. Now I will be able to contact them and use them in my Personal Networking Report, which makes me quite happy as I respect them both and look forward to their advice.

Leave a Reply

